Margaret (2011)

“Margaret” is a 2011 drama film directed by Kenneth Lonergan, starring Anna Paquin, Mark Ruffalo, Matt Damon, and Matthew Broderick. The film follows the story of Lisa Cohen (Anna Paquin), a privileged and self-absorbed teenager in New York City who becomes involved in a fatal bus accident.

As Lisa tries to come to terms with her role in the accident, she becomes increasingly obsessed with seeking justice for the victim and her family. Her quest for redemption leads her to clash with the legal system, her family, and her own conscience.

The film explores themes of guilt, responsibility, and the search for meaning in the face of tragedy. It was plagued by a troubled production, including multiple lawsuits and disputes over the final cut, which delayed its release for several years.

When it was finally released, “Margaret” received generally positive reviews from critics, who praised the complex and nuanced performances of the cast and the film’s ambitious exploration of difficult moral and ethical issues. Despite its critical acclaim, the film was a box office disappointment, grossing only $7 million against a production budget of $14 million.

Nevertheless, “Margaret” has since gained a cult following among fans of independent cinema, and is regarded as a powerful and thought-provoking exploration of the human condition.

Duration: 150 min.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here