Quartet (2012)

“Quartet” is a comedy-drama film released in 2012, directed by Dustin Hoffman in his directorial debut. The film tells the story of a group of aging musicians living in a retirement home for musicians, and their preparations for an annual concert to celebrate the birthday of composer Giuseppe Verdi.

The film stars Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay, Billy Connolly, and Pauline Collins as the four former opera singers who are reunited at the retirement home, where they reflect on their past and present lives.

The plot of “Quartet” centers around the arrival of Jean, played by Maggie Smith, who was once married to one of the other residents. Her arrival brings up old memories and tensions, but the group comes together to perform at the concert and rediscover their love for music.

“Quartet” was generally well-received by critics, with praise given to its performances and heartwarming story. The film was also a box office success, grossing over $57 million worldwide.

Duration: 98 min.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here