The Awakening (2011)

“The Awakening” is a supernatural horror film directed by Nick Murphy and released in 2011. The movie is set in post-World War I England and follows Florence Cathcart (Rebecca Hall), a debunker of supernatural hoaxes, as she investigates a haunting at a boys’ boarding school.

As Florence delves deeper into the mystery, she begins to uncover unsettling truths about the school and its history. Along the way, she forms a bond with a young boy named Tom (Isaac Hempstead Wright) and begins to confront her own traumatic past.

The film is notable for its atmospheric setting, well-crafted suspense, and strong performances. Hall delivers a nuanced and emotionally resonant portrayal of Florence, while Wright brings depth and sensitivity to his role as Tom.

“The Awakening” is a chilling and haunting film that offers a fresh and intelligent take on the horror genre. Its mix of psychological drama, historical setting, and supernatural elements make it a must-see for fans of horror and suspense.

Duration: 102 min.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here