The Paperboy (2012)

“The Paperboy” is a 2012 drama film directed by Lee Daniels and based on the 1995 novel of the same name by Pete Dexter. The movie stars Matthew McConaughey, Zac Efron, John Cusack, Nicole Kidman, and David Oyelowo.

Set in 1969, the story follows a journalist named Ward Jansen (played by McConaughey) and his partner Yardley Acheman (played by Oyelowo) as they investigate the case of a death row inmate named Hillary Van Wetter (played by Cusack), who is accused of killing a sheriff in a small Florida town. They are aided by Ward’s younger brother Jack (played by Efron) and a woman named Charlotte Bless (played by Kidman), who has fallen in love with Van Wetter despite his imprisonment.

As the investigation unfolds, the characters are drawn into a web of violence, sexual tension, and racial tension that threatens to destroy them all. The film received mixed reviews from critics, with some praising the performances of the cast and the lurid, atmospheric tone, while others criticized the convoluted plot and excessive use of sexual content and violence.

Overall, “The Paperboy” is a provocative and intense drama that explores themes of race, sexuality, and the dark underbelly of American society.

Duration: 107 min.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here